Last year, the University Libraries raised funds to digitize every University of Arkansas yearbook, from the original Cardinal to the current Razorback. Thanks to project donors, volumes from 1879-1949 are now available online.

“Margo and I treasure our time at the University of Arkansas,” said alumnus and project donor Jeff Germany (BSBA ’82, JD ’85). His wife, Margo, is also an alumna (BSE ’85). “We’re excited to learn of the plan to digitize past yearbooks and pleased to support it.”

This digitization project will make over 100 years of university history available to the public upon completion. At this time, 51 volumes have been digitized into 15,055 single, fully searchable scans. The project will include 119 volumes in 45,000 single scans in total. The public is welcome to get a behind-the-scenes look at the digitization process Tues., Oct. 29 at the Spotlight on Student Media event.

“It is very exciting and meaningful to process a project that has community demand and strong involvement from our NWA community,” said Martha Anderson, head of the Digital Services Department. “As with any extensive digital project, collaboration is a must. It is a privilege to work with such dedicated colleagues in all areas of the Libraries: Digital Services, Special Collections and Cataloging along with all the supporting units.”

The student-created University of Arkansas yearbook originated as the Cardinal in 1897. This first yearbook, 108 pages altogether, included photos of faculty, students, the few buildings on campus at the time, student clubs, sororities and fraternities, athletic teams, military cadets and the literary societies on the Fayetteville campus, as well as pictures of the law and medical students in Little Rock. Now known as the Razorback, the yearbook is annually created by a staff of dedicated and hardworking students. Student Media, which is collaboratively overseen by the Division of Student Affairs and the School of Journalism and Strategic Media in Fulbright College, is the student organization in charge of the creation and distribution of the Razorback.